Djokovic, the men’s singles champion at the Australian Open


Djokovic is the Champion. Novak Djokovic, who defeated Daniil Medvedev 3-0 at the first grand slam tennis tournament of the season. He reached the championship for the 9th time in the tournament.

No.1 Serbian Novak Djokovic and No.4 Russian Daniil Medvedev met in the men’s singles final. At the Australian Open Tennis Tournament held in Melbourne. Djokovic became champion.

Djokovic, who started the game well. Broke the service in the second game where his opponent made three simple mistakes in a row. Brought the situation to 3-0 in 8 minutes. In the fifth game. Medvedev, who evaluated three simple mistakes made by the Serbian tennis player and broke the service. He carried the score to 3-3 by taking the service game without scoring.

Djokovic, who took the lead by 40-0 in Medvedev’s service game after five balanced games. Did not give his opponent a chance to return and wrote the first set to 7-5.

In the second set, which started with two tennis players breaking each other’s service. Djokovic, who got three games in a row, went ahead 4-1. The Serbian racket. Which managed to hold on to its service and maintained its advantage in the seventh game in which was difficult. Broke the service once more in the next game and won the set, which lasted 35 minutes, 6-2.

Starting the third set with two double mistakes and falling 40-15 behind, Djokovic turned down his serve breakpoints and got the first game. Serbian tennis player, who evaluated the double mistakes of Medvedev, who had difficulty in keeping his motivation, and broke his service, brought the situation to 3-0 by clinging to his own service.

Taking full control of the game. Djokovic broke once again in the 8th game, winning the set 6-2 and the match 3-0.

Djokovic reached his 9th victory after 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2019, and 2020 at the Australian Open. Where he holds the title of a tennis player with the most titles. With this victory, the Serbian racket won the 18th grand slam of his career and the 82nd Professional Tennis Association (ATP) tournament title.

In men’s singles, Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal have 20 grand slam championships each.

Djokovic also received a prize of 2.75 million Australian dollars.