You must register your gun with the state of North Carolina as soon as you own it. You have 30 days from the date of purchase to register your weapon; after that, you could face a Class H felony and potential prison time. Suppose you have recently moved to North Carolina or purchased a gun in another state and now live here. In that case, you may wonder what steps you must take to register your gun with the state. This article will explain how to transfer gun registration in NC.
WHO MUST REGISTER THEIR GUNS?
All gun owners in North Carolina are required to register their firearms with the state. This includes long guns or rifles, as well as handguns. It doesn’t matter if the gun is new or used; you must register it.
You must also register all firearms that you inherit or receive as a gift. This also applies if you move to North Carolina with a gun that you already own. You could face serious criminal penalties if you fail to register your gun in NC. Law enforcement could confiscate your weapon, and you could face a Class H felony charge. This means you could face up to six months in prison and $1000 in fines.
TRANSFER OR BUY NEW?
This is a common question among gun owners in North Carolina. The short answer is that you must register the gun that you currently own. You cannot buy a new firearm, transfer the registration from the gun you own to the new gun, and then register the new firearm.
If you purchase a new gun, you must register that new gun. However, suppose you transfer the gun registration from your current gun to the new firearm. In that case, you must also provide the original receipt for the purchased gun. You must also have the serial numbers of both the old and new guns.
Registering Your Gun In North Carolina
When you register your gun in N.C., you must provide certain information. This includes your full name, address, and date of birth. You will also be asked to provide your Social Security number.
If you are not a U.S. citizen, you will be required to provide your Alien Registration number. The state will require you to provide your firearm’s make, model, and serial number. You will also have to pay a $10 processing fee.
STEPS TO HOW TO TRANSFER GUN REGISTRATION IN NC
When you purchase a gun or inherit one, you must first have it transferred to your name. Then, you can go to your county’s local law enforcement officers. Bring the gun you own, a copy of the receipt that shows you purchased the gun, and the $10 transfer fee.
Suppose you have recently moved to North Carolina and own a gun that you have previously registered in another state. In that case, you must contact that state’s law enforcement officials. You will need to request a copy of your gun registration.
Fees To Transfer Registration In NC
The fee to transfer gun registration in NC. is $10. If you are switching from one type of gun registration to another, such as from regular to concealed carry, the fee is the same.
If you inherit a gun from a family member and the gun is already registered in their name, you must request a state change of ownership form. You will then need to return the form to the Department of Justice with a copy of the death certificate, as well as a copy of your gun permit or firearm registration card. You will then pay the $10 fee to transfer gun registration in NC.